• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Want to build first kit.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been shooting traditional muzzle rifles for many years all factory percussion rifles. Couple years ago I purchased a left handed Lyman GPR 54 flinter that I much enjoy.
I have long considered assembling a full stock flinter from one of the high quality kits offered by several companies that I see in Muzzle Blasts from the NMLRA.
I am planning on attending the June shooting week in Friendship as a shopper for kit. I want the kit to be somewhat basic as a first build and one that is not a real pain to assemble until I can develop my skills and patience.
I am looking for a full stocked left handed flinter kit. I am open to recommendations as to whos kits to look at. Also open to rifled or smooth bore suggestions as well as caliber. Had not considered a smooth bore before but been reading good things about them. Thanks for all advise and suggestions!