• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Percussion cap question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrtheduck23

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am still relatively new to muzzleloading and have not shot my tc hawken yet, the only place that sells percussion caps near me is bass pro and they only sell CCI reenactment musket caps, because of this I have already purchased a musket nipple from track of the wolf. So my question is will the reenactment caps work for shooting my muzzleloader or should I look for other ones? Another concern is powder, I was planning on using pyrodex as it is the only thing available near me but now I am wondering if it will work with the reenactment caps?

Attachments

• 4WING-CCI.jpg
    4WING-CCI.jpg
    5.1 KB · Views: 7
Pyrodex will not work with flintlocks because flint does not throw a hot enough spark to ignite a substitute powder. A very few types of percussion guns have the same issue. Such as Sharps rifles where the flash channel is not straight but goes through 2 right angles.

But other then that, Pyrodex will work well. With Sharps they say it will work if using magnum caps.