• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Need help with 1858 Enfield clone.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to all this, just bought a used 1858 two band Enfield clone, and a Lee 0.575" mini-ball mold was included as part of the sale. Cast about 70 miniballs and went to the range. Went to load the first one, it rattled down the bore to the powder, turned the gun over, and it rattled back out into my hand. No rod required! I loaded and fired about ten of them anyway. Group size was about a foot at 25yds, around 1in5 keyholed and went through the backer sideways. Took it to a friend's who slugged the barrel, and it measured 0.585" noticed the rifling was 5 groove, then noticed that it has a barrel liner installed. Don't know the history there, but still want to be able to participate in club skirmishes, so I need help to find a mold that will work for it.
20240224_184352.jpg