• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Skimming Slag

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nav

45 Cal.
MLF Supporter
Reaction score
I’ll preface this with saying I’m new to casting and I’m still learning. Despite this, by following the directions I’ve been able to produce very uniform balls with the Lee two cavities and pot. I talked the manager of a local, industrial lead distributor into selling me some giant ingots for cash. He said they were 99% pure. When I melt them down the only “slag” I’m getting is a golden skin that seems to accumulate steadily on the surface as I’m casting. I don’t think it’s “slag” in the sense that it does not look at all like what I’ve seen watching YouTube’s of people casting. It’s very uniform and constant. It’s easy to skim off, but it doesn’t look like what people using wheel weights or old lead are removing. Does anyone know what this is?

This is what it looks like cold.
image.jpg

I’ve been skimming it. I’m just not convinced it’s “slag”.

I’ve got it on 6 when in ready to cast. Should I go cooler? Not that this is much or it really matters. I just kind of wanted to cheat and use the purest lead I could.