• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pedersoli shotgun questions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

randyhi

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading and recently bought a used 12ga Pedersoli side-by-side shotgun. I have been trying to learn as much as possible from this forum and found the answer to most of my questions. I have not been able to find what kind of percussion caps I should buy for this shotgun. I bought the gun online and the description stated that it has mod/full choked barrels. Would it be safe to fire lead patch and ball with these barrels? Sorry for what must seem like elementary questions but I was not able to find the answers anywhere else.

The gun should take #11 caps. Patched ball will depend entirely on ball & patch size. Usually the cylinder bores handle balls better because of the lack of constriction without a choke built in. All by ball shooting out of a double was with cylinder bores so I'll rely on others to answer that one.