• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Patches cut at muzzle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’ve been buying pre-cut lubed patches for the last 30 years but after reading so many posts advocating using pillow material I thought I would give it a try so I have a couple of questions. It is easy to measure a rigid item with a micrometer but how do you measure the thickness of cloth that compresses. I can get readings from .015 to .020 and still be able to pull the material through the micrometer. Also do you just cut the material into squares or do you cut a particular width strip of cloth then cut it off at the muzzle? And if you do cut it at the muzzle what about lube. As I see it you would simply lay the end of the strip of cloth over the muzzle, press the ball down then cut the cloth, so what do you do about lube? Do you lube the whole strip before hand or do you lube just the end you’re loading with the ball. I know this is pretty basic stuff but like I said I’ve always used pre-cut patches so I was wondering how you all did this.

Stan

Either lube the whole piece of material, lube just a portion of the material or use no lube at all.

Pick your poison.