• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Newbie here

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gmgaunt

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hello. I inherited two black powder rifles from my late uncle. One is Japanese made, likely from the Korea war timeframe. The other is a “newer” Thompson Arms model. The Japanese 45 caliber rifle has a cracked through the barrel, and will never be fired again. The Thompson, I have yet to inspect.

Attachments

• IMG_7580.jpeg
    IMG_7580.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 11
Hello. I inherited two black powder rifles from my late uncle. One is Japanese made, likely from the Korea war timeframe. The other is a “newer” Thompson Arms model. The Japanese 45 caliber rifle has a cracked through the barrel, and will never be fired again. The Thompson, I have yet to inspect.

So, the Thompson Arms is a .50 cal with serial #127011 and in pretty darn good condition. Looking at posts through the internet has people asking about rifles with numbers much higher than mine: 244xxx, 5xxxxx, 66xxxx. No one can pin down a reasoning of the s/n. Several posts mention manufacturing in the early 70’s. Many are calling it a “Hawkins”? With a low s/n like mine, it could be an early edition.