• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

getting into BP squirrel hunting

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robert Marshall

32 Cal.
Reaction score
im a newbie wanting to get into black powder squirrel hunting and was wanting to find out where to get a good accurate shooting percussion.36cal rifle. ive been looking at traditions and sitting fox rifles. thanks, Robert

Inexpensive way to go is a traditions or CVA. I Have a tack driving crockett .32 and a traditions bobcat .36 that I have yet to get "dialed in". Fox and other customs are real nice but you'll never shoot enough squirrels to justify the expense unless the market of tree rat kabobs skyrockets! :blah:

Its a great pass time of mine. I will scout out some water holes (we call em "tanks" out here) with tall pines and just sit down and wait. I often limit out this way.

Head shots only! both the .32 and the .36 will tear up the meat bad even with light loads.

Welcome and enjoy!

Depending on how much money you want to spend and whether or not you want a "new" rifle your choices could be almost endless.

In the "off the shelf" market you are limited to offerings by Traditions IN 32 CAL (no 36 offering) and Pedersoli.