• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Flintlocks...Do's and Don'ts

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Runewolf1973

The Crown & Cutlass
MLF Sponsor
MLF Supporter
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to shooting flintlocks and would like to compile a reference list for newbies of certain things you should never do, or maybe things you should always do with a flintlock. Such things like maybe dry firing with the pan open could damage something (I don't know)...stuff like that. There must be a few little things that doing so are a no-no and could possibly damage your flintlock mechanism. Or maybe certain do's or don'ts regarding cleaning or maintaining.

Any starters? :)

Have you read through the pasted thread "Flintlock Shooting Tips" at the top of this topic page yet? Lots of things in there.
https://www.muzzleloadingforum.com/threads/flintlocks-dos-and-donts.115207/

I'm not really looking for general shooting tips. Mainly that which pertains to preventing damage to the lock mechanism itself or even other parts on the rest of the gun. What kinda things can damage the sear? Can certain things damage the frizzen? Will cleaning the lock or barrel with water that is too hot harm anything, or is hotter better? Specific stuff like that...

Last edited:
Here's one that applies to any muzzle loader that has set triggers.

NEVER place the lock at "half cock" and then set and "fire" the set triggers. If you do this you can easily break the nose off of the lock sear or break the half cock notch in the locks tumbler.