• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Southern California Flintlock Gunsmiths

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So I’m pretty new to the world of muzzleloaders in general having just got my first percussion rifle a month or two ago, but I also just picked up my first flintlock, a T/C Hawken. Took it to the range Sunday and had a great time, but it seems a little rough in flints. Used the black English flints from TotW and it just beat the heck out of them. Every shot would just take chunks out of them. On the plus side, it seemed like the frozen was knapping the flints and keeping them sparking most of the time. On the downside, the flints were getting too short to use after 10-15 shots or so.

I know every lock is different, and every flint is different. Maybe this is normal, and I know some people exaggerate the number of shots they average on a flint. But I’m hoping with some tuning, I can get this running a little more gently.