• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Epoxy heat sealing....

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm a saltwater lure builder and over the years developed a technique for sealing plugs that's pretty much bullet proof.
The fully machined plug is heated until it's pretty warm, but not hot, then it's liberally slathered inside and out with long cure epoxy. All excess is removed inside and out and it's left to cure for 48 hours.
A final sanding with 400 grit and a wipe down with alcohol to remove the haze and it's ready for paint and an epoxy topcoat. In this case it would be ready for a polishing.

Working on a vintage CVA squirrel gun kit right now and wondering if i should try it. I like the idea that it would harden and help protect the carving

Is there any reason I haven't thought of that I shouldn't do this
This would be the largest piece I've ever attempted to seal by far

-270839644_20200712_180159_4502700.jpg

I'm a saltwater lure builder and over the years developed a technique for sealing plugs that's pretty much bullet proof.