• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Journal of a Traditional Alberta Muzzleloader Elk Hunt

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Walkingeagle

54 Cal.
Reaction score
Journal of a Traditional Alberta Muzzleloader Elk Hunt - 2019

Sept 1, 16 days to departure...

Well September has arrived once again and very soon I will be headed off on our annual elk hunt. My buddy and I have been doing this hunt since 1994, so this year is the 25th. Throughout the years others have joined, and faded away, with this years attendance looking like five (ourselves, his son and uncle, my son-in-law).

The camp usually consists of wall tent set-ups, and will once again, however I will be bringing my RV due to my active chemo timing in hopes of making things a little easier.

We are hunting the elk in the deep river valleys of the Peace River area, where steep and thick is very common. These are not easy hunts. Many years we have left empty handed, but usually manage at least one.

I am the only person who hunts with traditional muzzleloaders to ever attend, and this year am bringing my Lyman GPH .50 caliber percussion with 370gr home cast Maxiballs, and am quite excited. I have allotted 2 weeks for this hunt, and head out Sept 16th (our season opens the 17th).

I am hoping to continue this as a journal entry each night of my own day at the camp. Each days experience, sights, sounds smells, etc. With luck I will also be able to record success!