• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Best for moccasins?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’m just getting started on my traditional clothing and decided to start with a few pair of moccasins. So what is the best type of leather for them? Buffalo? Moose? Elk? Deer? What weight? My persona is western fur trade. I have an affinity for the southwest but live in the Northwest. I have a source for all of the above leathers as remnants but enough to make moccasins.
Thanks
LC

Buffalo can be the thickest and will protect your feet from rocks and thorns. Elk is lighter and softer and deer is lightest. All were used, how tough are your feet?

20200208_150747.jpg
I have 2 pair. One, for warm weather, is 8-10 oz leather with 12-14 oz sole with added arch support and fairly snug.
The other is all 12+ and made bigger for wearing heavy socks for cold weather. They look a bit bulky but will serve the purpose.
20200127_033957.jpg

Thanks for the pictures.
I made the top pair when I was 17. 45 years ago. Only change was the lowers because my feet grew. Originally had shag carpet insoles. Made the lowers with the heavy stuff.
The other pair I made last week.