• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

ash wood

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I want to build a simple Kentucky rifle, without wood engraving and inletting. It will be first rifle made by me. :)
I have no any experience about gun building :) . I did it never befor, so i want to build this rifle to learn all skills in practice. It is my main aim.
I have many ash wood. It has very good condition and very nice looking grains. Has any one of You used an ash wood to make rifle stock? I'm interested specilly in finishing. I want make it dark-brown, but with good marked grain. So what finishing and stain should i use? I will be thankful for any answer :hatsoff:

Get the grain running through the wrist and forestock right and it should be fine. Louiseville Slugger makes baseball bats out of this stuff so it should be plenty strong.

concerning staining.

i am a black ash basketmaker and use swabbed aqua fortis all the time to very good effect. the swabbing allows for the color to show outside, but not inside the basket. the color is a very pleasing medium to dark brown. i swab and then oven bake for about ten minutes at under 200 degrees.

ash tends to be a very straight-grained wood and once dry is very stable and propably would be very seviceable. however, since it is a ring-porous wood you might want to use filler during coloring and finishing, depending on your process and tastes.