• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

amadou

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tjohnson56

40 Cal.
Reaction score
OK, I'm new to a lot of this stuff so, amadou, I had to google this just to find out what you folks were talking about. I think I got the type of fungus ( the white ones off of birch trees? ) and that the layer I want is right under the cream colored cap.

Now is there a preparation that I need to do as in charing or drying?

When prepared right will this just catch a spark like char cloth?

You cut that thin velvety layer out of our shelf or horses-hoof fungus - the layer right below the hard outer shell and the "gills" in the center. It kind of looks like braintan leather. Lightly pounding it "fluffs" it up a bit more.

Then you prepare a strong solution of potassium nitrate dissolved in water. Just mix those "salt" crystals in until no more will dissolve in the water.