• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

alternative to gun safe?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PanzerOfJustice

32 Cal.
Reaction score
In a few months I will be moving into an apartment in a city, and I want to securely store my firearms. However, as you already know every gun safe out there is not designed for blackpowder weapons-most are 56 inches tall on the outside-my musket is 56 inches long already!

Not only that, but as a college student I don't want to spend too much on a safe/cabinet/locker. Somewhere around $300.

What I am thinking about is a metal storage cabinet. What do you guys use to store your longarms?

Found this one it's 55" tall but I bet if you cock the butt out a tad it would fit. There are others but more expensive. Saw a 59" I think but was close to 600.00.
[url] http://shop.sportsmansguide.com/cb/cb.asp?a=359227[/url]

Last edited by a moderator:
if you have a spare closet, you could drill a hole in the door for a dead bolt, with the permission of your landlord, or put a doorknob with a lock on it. It wouldn't be metal but you could also build one pretty cheaply if you are handy with wood. It's easy to make a rack on a wall..just get a two by four and drill a bunch of holes about 2 inches apart and put 6 inch or so dowel rods in them so the guns don't slide. Just some ideas.

there was a gun show on TV couple weeks ago had a 10 ft gun...how do you lock that up,,,or better yet take it to the range other than a convertable... :nono: :nono: :nono: