• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

A question about your local competitions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys,
Well I am new to this muzzleloading game. I have been a long time BPCR shooter but a back injury has put me out of that game. I have gone to one competition. It involved shooting steel targets at various distances. It was fun.

Now here is the question. I am thinking of trying to start a competition at my club. What kind of fun things have you seen at any shoots you have attended? I was given a suggestion of shooting a hanging pine cone. I could see that being a problem as they are not all the same size. What have you folks found?

Randy

You are limited only by your imagination. One of the mostest funnest matches I ever was in (and I organized) involved hanging cattle bones from a frame. The ribs were most challenging as the wind caused them to swing making very difficult targets. I'm sure others will chime in here with many other ideas.

We have had a lot of fun shooting condiment packages from fast food places and balloons that really blow around in the wind and playing cards turned sideway is a blast . Also try a short woods walk