• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Woodcarving Skills

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fvigo

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I am considering building a longrifle sometime in the distant future. I have no experience carving and thought of taking a local wood carving class to learn to carve. The carving done in the school prepares you for traditional (I guess) carvings not rifle stocks. One project is to carve a whale, another a leaf, and finally an statue of a monk.

Does anyone think it is worthwile to take such a class? Would the skills transfer to what's necessary to carve astock out of a blank?

Thanks

I do not think this would help. I would suggest that you look for articles by John Bivins. Get this book, "GUNSMITHING TIPS AND PROJECTS". Good articles by Bivins in this. Bivins was one of the best. I learned how from his writings years ago in the "RIFLE" magazine.

Does anyone think it is worthwile to take such a class? Would the skills transfer to what's necessary to carve astock out of a blank?

Sounds like the class focus is on 3-D carving, and :imo: rifle stock work is more related to relief carving. You WILL (or should) learn important skills like knife, chisel, and gouge control, tool selection and use, sharpening, and how to read grain direction. Not all skills used in 3-D carving will be useful for stock work, but the majority, especially detail and embellishment, will transfer nicely.