• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Round ball casting question.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Oregononeshot

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm just getting into casting my own round balls. Using a Lee 530 mold. I've got a Lee melting pot and have been ladle pouring. I've been using wheel weights (I know they aren't the best choice, but I'm experimenting with them them). They have been running anywhere from 218-220 grains, and have shot well out of my gun. Today I melted some older wheel weights that I feel where close to 100% pure lead. It was the best looking lead over poured so far. All the balls came out weighing 213-215 grains? I figured that more pure lead would cast closer to the 224 grain mold, but it's lower than the newer weights. Any idea what could cause the lower weight?

Are you using clip on or stick on (double sided tape) wheel weights? The clip on are typically harder due to an alloy mix and the stick on are closer to pure, softer so the can be bent and applied to the wheel.

Like mentioned before, the more the alloy typically means less weight in the end product.

Just in case; modern wheel weights are typically zinc or steel as lead is being phased out.