• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

rifled or smoothbore flintlock pistol for general shooting

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The German

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I am quite new to muzzleloaders and building muzzleloaders. For my first built I would like to do a Kentucky style flintlock pistol. Would you recommend a smoothbore or rifled barrel?

The German said:
I am quite new to muzzleloaders and building muzzleloaders. For my first built I would like to do a Kentucky style flintlock pistol. Would you recommend a smoothbore or rifled barrel?

Smoothbores are only an advantage if shooting small shot.
A good rifled pistol is more useful if shooting solid shot. In larger bores 50 or over, I would rather have rifle twist since I feel the 22" twist found in many pistol barrels to be too fast for general use. A 54 caliber pistol with 8-9" barrel is an effective hunting arm for deer to 40-50 yards with a 66" twist.

I have never made a smooth pistol the 9 or 10 I have made were all rifled.

Dan

The German said:

Woke up in the middle of the night thinking about doctoring an animal so I'll have to think about that one.
target shooting - rifled
large game - rifled