• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Puget Sound Free Trappers monthly shoot

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El Lobo

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading and figured I would like to find out a little more about the pastime. I looked on the internet and found out from the Washington State Muzzleloaders Association that there was a shoot to be held this morning down at the Capitol City Gun Club. They meet monthly on the first Saturday at 10 am for the shoot.

I drove down and ended up having a great time. The fellows I met (the names of most of whom I have completely forgotten--sorry!) were all enthusiastic and very friendly. I got to see a wide variety of muzzleloading firearms, ranging from Thompson Centers and Lymans to hand-built flintlocks. Two of the gentlemen even allowed me to fire their rifles.

One was a custom flintlock made in the style of the Lancaster rifle. .45 caliber with a swamped barrel and a beautifully finished stock. Jim, its owner and maker, showed me how to prime and load his rifle and gave me a quick tutorial on its double set trigger. I took aim at the silhouette target and BANG!! I surprised myself by actually hitting the target. Jim said it is a tack driver. I would have to agree.