• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Powder question

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jim C

45 Cal.
Reaction score
I've never used synthetics before, but because it was so cheap ($9.99 lb) I picked up some Alliant Black MZ to try out in my cap lock rifles and haven't had a chance to do that yet. It is very coarse, I think even more coarse than 1f Goex. So coarse in fact that it looks like it would have a hard time settling down into the fire channel. Thought maybe some of y'all experienced with it might like to chime in.....Thanks...Jim

Yep It's like gravel... :haha:
I like it though, but it does meter hard.....it has extremely little fouling and is almost non-corrosive.
When I first started using it, I had to open up my nipple flash hole a little to get consistent ignition. Ultimately, I went back to real black powder.
But I love it for cartridge loading.

i use Black MZ powder almost exclusively. After the powder is loaded lean the gun lock side down and give the stock a couple whacks with the hand.

Black MZ likes a tight ball seated hard on the powder.