• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pietta 1851 .36 questions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoadKill_RPD

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am new to BP and obtained a Pietta 1851 brass framed .36 cal. I have attempted to take it apart to see how it works but ran into stuck mainspring and trigger/bolt screws. The slot is too thin for most of my gun screwdrivers, but one of my Russian gun's screwdriver fit. I cannot budge either screw and I'm starting to bugger up the mainspring screw head slot. Does Pietta Loc-tite those screws? I am afraid to put heat to it until I get some professional advice. I have tried penetrating oil, but had no luck. Are Pietta and Uberti screws compatible? I have found a lot of Uberti screws, but not a lot of Pietta ones.

Also, I am trying to disassemble the ramrod assembly but can't figure out how to remove it from the barrel. There is no screw holding it in place. Can someone provide direction on that as well?

Thanks in advance!

On your last question. There should be a screw holding the loading lever. Another where the lever attaches to the plunger. Picture for reference.