• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Paper Cartridges...To Wax or Not to Wax, That is my Question!

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoadKill_RPD

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am very new to BP. I have a .36 Pietta 1861 and have the Cartridge Kits paper cartridge kit. I made 12 cartridges for my first time shooting and was concerned about the amount of wax that accumulated on the ram piston. I have looked in other threads and have not come up with a definitive answer. The instructions say to NOT skip dipping the ball and end of paper cartridge in the wax. My understanding is that's to prevent chain fires. Others in threads suggest that it is not necessary. I am getting consistent lead rings from seating the balls in the cylinder chambers. Wouldn't that alone prevent chain fires?

In another thread: "To avoid most fouling you can go: powder > lubed wad > ball > lube/cylinder grease of your choice, usually lambs tallow+beeswax is best

If you don't care about fouling at the moment and just want to get a shot off fast: Powder > ball alone is fine"

So the wax is to reduce fouling or is there another reason. It is not to waterproof the paper cartridge.