• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

My First Rifle carving...

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jerry Samouce

40 Cal
Reaction score
I am new to the whole reenactment thing as I have been doing it for only 1 year.
Being afraid to mess it up, the amazing gunsmith David Ricketts assembled on commission and delivered my first Flintlock Rifle to me a week ago.
It is a Jim Chambers Mark Silver 58cal Virginia Rifle and even non-zeroed with a bit of "Kentucky windage" it shoots like a dream!

Now, I also happen to have been working wood with chisels off and on for over 20 years and I am very confident in those skills.
So, I made my first design and posted it on my FB page. This first design was shot down (pun intended) by My local Rev War Mentors as way too fancy and thus inaccurate historically. So, I took their advise and simplified things to come to my second design.
I am moving toward reenacting one of my relatives who lived on the frontier of south western NC and served as a captain of NC Militia during Kings Mountain to Yorktown.
John Whiteside moved as a kid to the wilderness of NC with his blacksmith father William Whiteside and family… which means F&I War time too.