• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

I need a push!

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am toying with the idea of ordering a Woodsrunner kit from Kibler. I have never built a muzzleloader before and I’m not sure I want to jump into this at this stage of my life. I’m fairly handy and I’m sure I can handle it but I need you guys to give me some advice! Is this a good kit to start with?? It’s a bit pricey so I don’t want to jump into it if I’m doomed to failure! Second question is this….I’m thinking to go with the 45. I have three 50s, all percussion. This will be my first flintlock.
Thanks in advance!!

Last edited:
I think almost anyone can put one together and have a very fine shootable rifle, the amount of finish and decoration is where things will deviate.

Personally I went with the 54, I do not mind a little recoil and lead and powder is cheap (relatively) I like light handy rifles and the woods runner fits that bill very nicely.

Do it!!

Seriously. You won’t find a better rifle kit. My Woodsrunner is caliber .54 and incredibly lightweight. I’m still polishing the brass but the stock is practically done for you out of the box. I will do some carving on mine. Sand it, stain it and bolt or pin everything back on the stock and go shooting. The rifle could be put together in basic form and fired over a weekend.

I have never built a muzzleloader before and I’m not sure I want to jump into this at this stage of my life.