• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Conical vs patched round ball tissue damage?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zeb

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am new to muzzle loading,but an experienced hunter.I bought my first muzzle loader because my state now has "Mountaineer Heritage season" for a few days in January.It ran from the 10th through the 13th this year,and is only open for those who use the flint,or percussion side lock rifles,or long bows, or simple, non compound recurves.I bought mine just a few days before the season opened,and did hunt with it a couple evenings, but did not see anything I felt like shooting..I bought some of them Pa.Conicals by Hornady at the local sporting goods store.I also bought a box of round balls as well .I thought the price was good at around $14 for 50 Conicals,and a bought $12 for 100 balls.I lined it in with the Conicals,and it seems to be pretty accurate. The rifle is a 50 cal with a 1" in 48" twist from what I've gathered, but I have not measured it..It seems that round balls are favored by more folks than conicals for hunting,and I figure they must get the job done pretty well,but logically it seems like the Conicals would be deadlier. I k