• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

BUIDING MY FIRST LONG RIFLE AND I GOT A COUPLE OF QUESTIONS

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bigben

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I'M BUILDING MY FIRST LONG RIFLE IT'S A .40 CAL FLINTLOCK.THE STOCK IS CURLY MAPLE WHAT IS THE BEST STAIN AND FINISH TO PUT ON THE WOOD.ALSO I DO NOT HAVE ACCESS TO A MILLING MACHINE SO WHATS THE BEST WAY TO GET THE DOVETAILS IN THE BARREL FOR THE FRONT AND REAR SIGHT.I KNOW I'M A NEWBIE SO BE EASY ON ME WHEN YOU ANSWER MY DUMB QUESTIONS

You can file the dovetails by hand, but yeesh, that's a scary proposition. There are books and videos that would probably help though. Personally, I'd recommend taking it to a gunsmith to have the dovetails milled.

As for stain, there are many. The Laurel Mountain stains seem to look really good on maple. Their walnut stain gives a nice deep brown and lets the curl show through. I like their cherry stain for the reddish color. Check out[url] trackofthewolf.com[/url] for stain color samples.

I can't help you much with which finish to use. I've tried several and still haven't found the one I like yet. But then again, I'm far from an expert builder.

Last edited by a moderator: