• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Buffalo

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ben K

40 Cal.
Reaction score
As you guys might know, I'm very new to the game of shooting and hunting with a muzzleloader. Well, today was a lucky day, and I was blessed with my first success - and meat. My lady and I walked into the bush early in the morning, and quietly and slowly stalked along with a good breeze in our faces. My first stalk got me in range of a nice cow, but I then noticed she had a calf, and so I backed away and left them to it none the wiser. At one stage the sun lit on something red moving through the grass toward us, and we ducked down, thinking it was a scrub bull. It turned-out to be a yearling buffalo covered in red mud, on his own - strangely - and too cute to shoot. He cut our wind and ran. A little later we disturbed a wild dog who'd been resting in some shady patch of pandanus by a spring, and he proved too skittish to present an opportunity. As the day heated and the swampy creek ended, we had about reached our turn-around point, three kilometres from the Toyota. And then I noticed that slight patch of buffalo hide gleaming in the distance, immediately swallowed-up