• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Breechplug woes

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mbw907

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I have a problem that I need your input on. I am a maintenance mechanic/metalworker and I thought I'd nearly seen it all. I got a great deal on a .58 cal. reproduction Zuave from a co-worker and brought it home only to find that it had some neglect problems. The nipple was frozen in place so I soaked it in penetrating oil for two days and still twisted it off in the breechplug. No big deal there.I can get that out . Then I realized that there was a blockage in the breechplug itself. I soaked it in penetrating oil thinking that I could unscrew it after a good week or so of sitting and soaking in. I clamped it in a padded vise and it would not budge. I heated it with a propane torch making sure that the barrel got more heat than the breechplug so it would expand before the plug did. Still no luck. Then I tapped around the perimeter of the mating joint with a brass hammer thinking that this may jar it so the penetrating spray could soak in the threads.I soaked it a few more days and no dice. I did see a ring of oil that managed to seep out around the mating surfa