• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Brand new uberti 1860.....Wow

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ian45662

45 Cal.
Reaction score
Well I got a uberti 1860 and although I am new to the colt type revolvers I have shot cap and ball revolvers alot. All I can say is wow and what a HUGE let down this has been. Right off the bat I replaced the stock nipples with Track of the wolf stainless which stick out longer than the stock nipples do. With out fail I will have atleast 2 chambers that do not go off and some times all 6 because they need to be struck by the hammer 2 or 5 times. Accuracy is not what I was hoping for. I was looking for something in the range of 2" at 25 yards on a rest but 5 or so is the best I can do with 2F, 3F, round ball and conical. The first time I had it out I was only able to put 12 rounds through it and it took the better part of an hour to do that because the only thing I could think of was that the hammer grew or the frame shrank causing the hammer to bind and it was damn near impossible to pull it back to cycle a new round. Well I had to take the hammer off and file down where it had rubbed the frame .After about 120 rounds today I had to do that yet