• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.50 or .54 Caliber

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jackman

32 Cal.
Reaction score
So first off I am new to muzzle loading and want to buy one of the kits in the link below, question is which caliber should I buy .50 or .54 Caliber ? I'm just a target shooter nothing serious just for fun and no hunting. I like the Lyman Great Plains Rifle and I understand that the Lyman is actually made by Perdersoli in Italy

https://www.muzzle-loaders.com/rifles/lymantm-great-plains-flintlock-kit.html

If you're just planning to target shoot, then I don't think there's much of a difference between 50 and 54 cal. Sometimes 54 cal accessories might be somewhat less available at big box stores (Cabela's, Bass Pro, etc.) but are definitely around if you go to sites that focus on muzzleloading. Do you plan to cast your own balls or buy factory?

I've always shot 54 cal, so that's my bias. Becoming more important for me now that some states like Colorado are requiring PRBs to be greater than 50 cal for elk hunting.