• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

36 or 44 best centerfire upgrade

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cadmandu

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hi All and Merry Christmas

Im new to Black powder and cap and ball. Im interested in a Pietta remington 1858 new model army or the 44 cal version.
Which size 36 to 38 spl or 44 to 45 lc is a better fit to the barrel bore dia.
Im interested in buying the center fire cylinder.

thanks

Apples and baboons.
38 special is .357. Round ball is .035. 44 is .430, 45 COLT is .454.
Nuff said

If you want 45Colt then buy an Peace Maker Colt

Thanks I thought muzzle loaders shot revolvers as well.
So the 36 cal has a closer fit, ball dia vs 38 split round

Which size,,,,is a better fit to the barrel bore dia.
Honestly? There is no coloration to be found in regards to that question. There are many bullet type variations available to each caliber.
So experimentation with different projectiles within an individual gun is needed. One will be a good fit for the 38, another will be a good fit for the 45.
Hint; one is smaller that the other.