• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

1858 Remington Pietta Sights and Caps

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OldCrowkiller

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I am new to cap and ball, but not new to black powder.

I recently purchased a Remington 1858 revolver by Pietta through Cabelas. I enjoy shooting it, and have finally found an accurate load. The problem is that it prints 5" low and 3" left at 25 yards. I can raise the group by filing the front sight, but is there any way except "Kentucky windage" to move the group to the right?

Also, CCI #11 and Remington #10 caps are both too loose for the nipples. Without "piching" the caps, they WILL fall off. What threads do the newer Piettas have, so I can order some new nipples? Is there another cap that would fit what I have?

It's better to have caps that need to be pinched to keep them on.

Old Crow;