• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Wooden knife handle finish

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mad Professor

50 Cal.
Reaction score
What have people been using for wood finishes?

I'm a newbie to knife making and am just finishing up some small projects to get a hang for it. I got some green river blanks, wooden scales ( cherry and osage) and made up some stuff for the kitchen as first projects. Will haver nicer stuff than I could buy, and the osage and cherry will hold up if left in the dishpan

I read that the osage will loose it's nice yellow with time so I have tried marine spar varnish on one and it really brought out the color.

I assume linseed and tung oils are widely used?

Anyway what was used in the past and what are people having good results presently?

I have been experimenting with epoxy applied with hot air for sealing walnut and then using my tru-oil over the top. It looks like oil finish but seals like only epoxy can that has had some penetration.
I never liked epoxy finishes that lay on top because they crack in cold weather but if you can get them to penetrate by heating and working them in before they set up it is a whole new ball game.