• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

When Do You Load on a Hunt?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dadof8

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Being an engineer, I like to think of all contingencies possible. I will be enjoying my first ML deer hunt in Missouri on Nov. 12 and I have been thinking through the entire process so that I don't screw up and not have something I need.

My question is on the first morning out, do you load when you get out of the truck in the dark before going to your stand or do you wait and load after you get to the stand?

I also guess it is possible to load the night before.

I most likely will hunt Saturday and Sunday. If I don't limit out, I'll go back the following weekend. If I don't fire the gun during the hunt on the first weekend, I'll fire it before I go home Sunday night and reload the next weekend.

Thanks for your help.

Dadof8

I load the night before I go out. BE SURE TO POP A COUPLE OF CAPS BEFORE YOU LOAD, to dry out the flash channel. Then leave it loaded but unprimed for the duration. I lower the hammer on a piece of leather to seal out moisture.