• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Trouble loading lee conical into cylinders

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm still learning the art of cap and ball shooting and I'm having some issues with loading. My 200gr lee conicals are sized to to.451 but are just a tad too large to fit into the cylinder without great effort and struggles even when using a loading stand. My cylinders (pietta 1858) measure .438-.440. What are some suggestions would you recommend? Maybe sizing the conicals smaller, beveling/opening the cylinder?

If your cylinders are what you say they are, then .451 is WAY too big.

Hone your cylinders to .450 and those bullets will load just fine.

So will .454 lead balls.

If your cylinders are what you say they are, then .451 is WAY too big.

Hone your cylinders to .450 and those bullets will load just fine.

So will .454 lead balls.
The edge of the cylinder does measure that tight. Once past the edge, the bullets load a little easier. I never honed a revolver cylinder but maybe try the edge first..?

Hard to imagine the edge tighter than the rest of the cylinder.

Unless the manufacturer somehow rolled the edge in.