• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Smoothbore accuracy?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mike992

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to muzzleloading and am curios as to what kind of accuracy can you expect out of a smoothbore rather than a rifle?

Smoothbores can be very accurate within there range limits, It all depends on the gun and the shooter. My smooth bore trade gun will shoot 1 hole groups at 25 yards, at 50 yards it will keep its shots in a 6" group. this gun has a short barrel(24"). My Brown Bess has a front and rear site and will keep all shots on a pie plate at 50 yards. Most smoothbores will give hunting quality accuracy out to 50 yards. I have shot competition with the Brown Bess out to 100 yards, using the 200yard target, I put 3 of 5 shots in the scoring rings with the other 2 on the paper. I have not shot big game over 50 yards with any of my smoothbores. They can be accurate, you will need to work up a good load to find the best combo.
In my Trade gun i use a .600 RB w/ .010th Patch and 70 grs of 3F. In the Bess I shoot a .705 RB and a .020th patch and 80 grs of 3F. I hope this info helps you.

As mentiones it depends on the gun and the shooter