• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

"REAL" Black powder?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frank Briggs

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I've got a TC Renegade caplock in .50 cal, and I'm still learning how to shoot it.

When I bought the rifle the only powder I could find was Pyrodex. I used that for the first half dozen trips to the range.

Click...BOOM!

The slow ignition made it hard to hit with.

Then, I bought a can of Triple Seven.

Now we're talking. Maybe I've learned how to load this thing, or maybe the 777 lights off faster, or maybe both. When I squeeze the trigger, it fires. And it doesn't stink.

Joy!

Now, I've found this forum and read for hours from people that seem to actualy know something.

And I notice that you guys are dead set in the idea that "Real" black powder is clearly better than the imitations.

Ok... but can somebody detail that for me?

Why is it better? I can get Goex 2f, but it's a hassle. I have to fill out a form and the only place that has it is 50 miles away. It's more expensive,too.

Can I expect faster ignition? Tighter groups? Easier cleanup? Better velocity? What?