• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Proper cal for Silhouette Target Shooting

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

terrydull

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello! I'm new to ML and I'm looking to start Silhouette Target shooting with the goal of competing at Friendship one day.

I'm very confused about the sport (not sure of the rules) and I'd like to get a percussion cap rifle in a cal that would be appropriate ... I don't want to destroy the targets ... just knock them down.

I really like the looks and barrel specs of a Lyman Great Plains rifle as well as some of the longer barrel Pedersoli Hawkens. However, these usually come in .50/.54 cal. To me, these cal's seem too large for Silhouette Target shooting, but I don't know.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Terry

Welcome to the Forum.

If you have Adobe reader on your computer, follow this link to the NMLRA rule book.
http://nmlra.org/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Rules-Regulations.pdf

(If you don't have Adobe Reader, get it. It's free).

On page 11 you will find section 5700 which gives the rules for Silhouette Target shooting.