• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pistols vs Rifles?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macr0w

36 Cl.
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to the whole black powder gun scene. Actually, I'm new to the gun scene in general.
I have an old rifle and an old shotgun that I inherited from my dad but I don't shoot much.
I am into history and I like the idea of having a nice looking Flintlock pistol to shoot and display.
I have been doing a lot of research and joined this forum to try and learn some stuff about flintlock construction.
After browsing this forum for a few days I seem to gather that most of the users here build/shoot/prefer rifles as opposed to pistols.
I certainly understand that rifles are more accurate at hitting your target than a pistol is for sure.
Am I right? Are rifles more popular with the BP community?
I am just a beginner but I am interested in a pistol for the romantic vision of a 18th century sailor or cavalryman sidearm.
That's what I'm going for with my first build.
So, where are all the pistol build threads? :cool:

Rifles are more useful in that we can compete, plink, or hunt. A pistol will do this as well but there’s less opportunities.