• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

OK....Tell me the truth

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

encorepete

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I a newbie here. I have an encore 209x50 and a renegade 50. Neither is a flintlock. I have been thinking about building a rifle and have decided to build a flintlock. I've never shot one before, I'm the only ML nut in my group of hunting buddies. My buddies laugh at me all the time when I'm carrying one of my ML's hunting during the regular season. I have zero experience with flintlocks and have never built anything a self respecting bird would call a home, much less a firearm. :eek: I have 300.00 or less to spend. which ML kit will fit the price? How hard is it to build? Do kits function as well as factory bought guns? Obviously I don't want to have a bunch of problems. I have looked a the GPR, but thats about it.

Are you satisfied with the preformance of the renegade? You can expect about the same performance from the flint[url] version....in[/url] my opinion. Learning how to properly install a flint and proper amount of priming powder would be the only difference.

A high quality flintlock will give the most pleasurable results. I know this probably isn't what you want to hear, but the better quality riflegun will MUCH more likely bring you your money back if you decide the flint game isn't for you.