• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Nipple questions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rikeman

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I recieved a Traditions Hawken as an early Christmas gift from my wife. I am very new to black powder. Only about a month before I recieved my rifle, I built a traditions kentucky pistol. The pistol is .50 and the hawken is .54. I love shooting both of these and am totally in love with black powder shooting!

My hawken split 2 nipples vertically in about 10 shots! I replaced them with stainless steel nipples. I fired off a couple caps too see how things look. the nipple if flattening on the front edge. I dont see a way to adjust the hammer to hit square. Is this normal. I dont want to go out and keep splitting nipples.

I am shooting 80 grains of 777. With the limited rounds I got through the rifle, I wasn't able to sight it in well, but was only off to the right from the bull about 3" at 50 yards unsupported. Consistant but was breaking nipples before I could adjust.

PUt a new nipple in the gun. Then use some kind of marking dye, like lipstickto coat the top edge of the nipple. LOWER the hammer onto the nipple to transfer the marking dye to the face of the hammer. Only the high spot( the front of your nipple according to what you have observed) will touch the hammer. You can buy a small grinding bit for a dremel tool at most hardware or hobby stores.