• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

New to Traditional Muzzleloaders, and flintlocks

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vette_lover2004

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Hey All,

I'm new to the world of muzzleloading and flintlocks in general. I've since ordered a Jim Chambers New England Fowler, and am on the slow and I mean slow, process of inletting the swamped barrel. Man, does that black inletting paste get everywhere or what? It started out with much gusto, and then the reality of the work and time involved has set in. But I'm not discouraged one bit. I'm out to complete this gun by spring if time allows. I'm hoping I can lean on some shoulders for guidance and will most likely be haunting the gun builders section here and there. But, hopefully I'll be upstairs building a gun more often than not. So, if any are willing to take a complete rookie under their wing and allow me to chew their brain...Please step forward. I'm all ears. Teach me the ways of the traditional gun builders. :bow:

Hey, I'm not too awful far from you at all. I,m from Guilford originally, but now reside in Norwich. I was actually over at Whitney Point a couple weeks ago...good walleye fishing over there in the reservoir I hear. Never caught anything over there, except a cold. Thanks to all you guys for the welcome. I hear there is a wealth of knowledge for the taking.