• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DHalvy

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hey I just joined and I’m fairly new to muzzleloaders in general. I have a question right off the bat too!

I am getting prepared for the Montana heritage muzzleloader season and I have a .58 cal Thompson center big boar. As many of you probably know, .58 cal bullets are very hard to come by. I have been shooting balls but have not been able to be very accurate with them even at close range (50 yds). I was told with that gun and the rifle twist of 1:48, I should be shooting conicals. So I was able to find some all lead Minnie’s that are size 57. My questions are, 1. are these safe to use in this gun? 2. Could I use two patches to snug them up if they are loose? Any information would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_0240.jpeg
    IMG_0240.jpeg
    1.5 MB · Views: 4
Hey I just joined and I’m fairly new to muzzleloaders in general. I have a question right off the bat too!