• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

How to “harden” leather?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Howdy folks:
I'm no expert in leather like some of the other guys here; but I can tell you that in my years of leather work, I have YET to find a method for hardening Oil or Chrome tanned leather? That being said, there are a lot of good ideas on "hardening" Veg tanned here. I find wetting it ( NOT soaking it) then letting it dry naturally or over a heat register will work. You can also help it along with a hair dryer set to low but be careful, you CAN burn or wrinkle the leather to the point of being useless. I tried the microwave thing and all I did was ruin leather and PO my wife something fierce. Our microwave still smells like a burnt shoe? A good thing we have 2 microwaves. :~))))