• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Help with TC Hawken flintlock hammer

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dinorocks

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Thanks for reading! My background is primitive archery ("bowyer") which evolved to attending rendezvous and now "shooting" flintlock. I started with a TC Hawken percussion cap and bought a TC Hawken flintlock the other year...I didn't want to spend big bucks right out of the gate. I love "shooting" the rifle but need to put the word shoot in parentheses as I'm not very successful getting the rifle to fire. I joined some clubs, read what ever I could get my hands on, and attend some shoots...I did learned lots...one thing I learned is you get what you paid for...which is fine.

I had a different frizzen put on my rifle as the frizzen I had was very soft... I'm still having issues getting a spark. Now that I read more about the various issues with getting the rifle to fire I see that my flint is only striking about 1/4 of my frizzen (at the bottom). I heard about heating and bending my hammer but also heard that if I do that, the angle will not be proper when the flint hits the frizzen. Maybe worth a try?