• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hatfield .45 caliber rifle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cruiser96

32 Cal.
Reaction score
ok guys im new to blackpoder rifles. i just recently purchased a .45 caliber hatfield rifle. shot it for the first time today. was told to start off at 30 grains of powder. when i fired it the first time nothing happened. replaced the primer tried again and the ball barely made it out of the barrel. any ideas on what i need to be looking at as far as how much powder to be using?

Did ya make sure it is clean first?My Kentucky rifle i shoot 50 for a 45,now i am a real novice and haven't been able to shoot for some time and when i started i wouldn't have known to make sure the barrel was clear,i'm sure yours is and that's just me.

What was your complete load? Ball size, patch thickness, type of lube, and was the barrel clean and free of oil before loading?

The Hatfields were nice rifles and should be trouble free if they are in good shape. We are going to need more information about your loading process and ball size, patch, lube and powder. 30 grains should have moved the ball out very nicely and would make a decent small game load.

my guess with it bearly coming out of the barrel that you had an undersized projectile
or you fouled alot of powder that didn't ignite and only a small amount of the charge went off

or both

My .45 caliber underhammer with a Green Mtn. barrels best load is 65 grains of 3F and a .018 patched .445 diameter ball.