• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

CVA Hawken crown damage

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Necrodude

32 Cal
Reaction score
I'm new to black powder firearms. I have a Pietta Colt 1851 and wanted to get a rifle of some sort. I found a CVA Hawken rifle on gunbroker that looked like it was in good condition. I recieved it yesterday but the crown looks horrible. Is this normal for this rifle?
20190418_110431.jpg

Looks kind of....terrible. You'll receive lots of advice on how to recrown it. Can't really tell, but it looks like it's not too deep. We have the technology...we can fix it!!!

Well I contacted the person I bought it from and they said I could get a refund if I wanted. It looks a lot worse in person, its hard to get a good picture of it but I took one that shows it better.
20190418_155224.jpg

Try it out first. It looks like someone took a small file to it. It also looks easily fixed if necessary with a simple dremmel tool and grinder ball.
But try it first.