• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

A few '51 Navy Qs.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bluegrass

36 Cal.
Reaction score
I have very little experience with shootin black powder revolvers, so I'm hoping yall can clarify a few things fer me. My new revolver is an Uberti 1851 Navy .36 cal. The Uberti manual says that when you load round balls, a ring of lead should be shaved off. It seems like I read somewhere on this forum that you should chamfer your chamber mouths if they shave a ring of lead. I thought shaving a small ring of lead was a good thing. ::

Also, everyone suggests .380 RBs for a .36 revolver. How hard is it to load .380s? I don't have one of those loading stands, so should I stick to .375s?

I'm sure I'll have a few more questions after a while. I'd sure appreciate it if the gods of the black powder revolver would bless me with some of their knowledge! :master: ::

Thanks!